Posted in Newsletter, Resource

Resourcing Pastors

I wish you could have been with me to see their eyes. They were wide eyed as I explained the Gospel. They were fascinated with the changing colors and followed my every move. And they were not even kids. They were Muslim background believers (MBB) now pastors, youth leaders, children’s workers all amazed at the story bag.Vlad story bag It was not high tech, it was simple fabric. One of them asked where they could get such a tool—the others were all inspecting the balance of the other 14 story bags and when I told them they could each take one, well it got a little crazy. I explained they were to be shared and they all agreed. One by one they thanked me and promised they would use them to tell the Bible stories to children. I told them to be careful because even adults liked them. Their eyes danced and they smiled in agreement. “Yes, we love them and can’t wait to use them with our kids. Please tell your friends who gave them thanks,” and with that they left the room. As I watched them leave our gathering I was thankful to God that 15 Central Asian believers would have a useful tool. More importantly one that was easily carried across the border, could be used hundreds of times and would communicate the Gospel truth to people that I could never reach. I was reminded that is why we do what we do at GSG. We place a value on resourcing people so that ministry can be expanded and disciples can be made!

IMG_0310Speaking of disciples, imagine if only .01 percent of our country followed Jesus. What would you do? The two young MBB men I was meeting with had committed to being part of a leadership group of ten, that would mobilize hundreds, that would seek to reach and disciple 2% of the children and youth (approx. 600,000) for Christ in their region by 2022. And they had other friends that wanted to reach their countries in the rest of the Central Asian region. As we talked, discussed, then strategized some more, my heart was deeply moved by their passion and energy to accomplish this crucial task. I have been envisioning this very thing for many years and I felt in my spirit this was the time to take a step. So after praying with them and some follow up meetings over several days I told them I was willing to walk with them through this process for the next 5 years.   I wish you could have felt their embrace and seen their faces. Maybe one day I can introduce you to them…

And now they are all trekking back across the borders and back into their normal life and challenging ministry situations. Will you join me in praying for them? They live in regions you know about like Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan.   Specifically that God would provide people, prayer, and resources for the team to Teenager Smileaccomplish this monumental task. At the end of April they are expecting to gather 300 leaders to formally launch the initiative and I look forward to having you be a part of this strategic ministry.

Again we value your partnership with us at GSG as we seek to mentor, resource, and network with believers globally and would ask that you share what God is doing through our networks with your community and help us expand the team here in the USA. I am always willing to share with ministry leaders, teams, or even your family or friends. Formally or informally I love to communicate how God is transforming people through your partnership gifts and prayer support.

For up to date prayer requests and information like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter. God is doing all sorts of work all over the world, you can be a part of that too.

Author:

At Global Signet Group, Inc. our purpose is to mentor, resource, and network with people around the globe to bring hope through our network of national teams and global partners. Together, we seek to empower people so they can find provision for their physical, emotional and spiritual needs on their own to become a viable and valuable part of their community. We have learned a great deal about international ministry relationships over the last 17 years and are confident and excited as we put that knowledge to fruitful use through GSG, the Global Signet Group.

Leave a Reply

